2,3,4 e 5 de Abril 2009

2 – The University of Coimbra – History

The University of Coimbra, located in the city of Coimbra is the oldest Portuguese university. The institution, one of the largest in the country, dates back to the century following the founding of the Portuguese nation, since it was created in the thirteenth century, in 1290, specifically the March 1, when it was signed in Leiria, by D. Dinis, the document Scientiae thesaurus mirabilis, which created the University itself and asked the Pope for confirmation.
It is one of the oldest universities in continuous operation in Europe and the world, one of the largest institutions of higher education and research. It is organized in eight different colleges in a wide range of fields, with all higher degrees in architecture, education, engineering, humanities, law, mathematics, medicine, natural sciences, psychology, social sciences and sports. It is a founding member of the Coimbra Group, a group of leading European Research University, whose inaugural meeting was stage. The University of Coimbra has approximately 22,000 students, and houses one of the largest communities of foreigners in Portugal, being the most cosmopolitan Portuguese university.
Currently, the University is spread over three major areas:

• High academic, Polo I, where the rectory and administrative offices are located, sharing the building with the history of the University School of Law. Still in High Education, the Faculties of Arts and Psychology and the Department of Science and Mathematics, Faculty of Science and Technology (FCTUC) are also located. The Library and Archives and the Directorate General of FCTUC complete the whole building.

• The Polo II, and Engineering Center, where are placed the departments of Engineering FCTUC.
the Departments:
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Department of Computer Science
Department of Civil Engineering
Department of Chemical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering

• The Pole III, or the Health Sciences Center, where the courses of the medical field, as well as some related research laboratories are located.

The Faculty of Economics, situated in a palace of Avenida Dias da Silva, is apart from the other 3 poles, and was established in 1972.

This University formed Portuguese figures of recognized national and global value in the different areas of knowledge, such as Egas Moniz (Nobel Prize for Medicine), Eça de Queiroz, Antero Quental, Almeida Garret, Miguel Torga, António de Oliveira Salazar, Manuel de Arriaga, among others.
Currently, a large part of the national elite, who occupy positions of prominence in the country, formed on the chairs of the Coimbra Academy.


Deixe uma Resposta

Preencha os seus detalhes abaixo ou clique num ícone para iniciar sessão:

Logótipo da

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Google photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Google Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Twitter Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Facebook photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Facebook Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: